. . Anmelden | Kontakt | Anreise | Impressum | Datenschutzerklärung
researching for practice
developing out of research

Milestones and Awards

1985 Establishment of a foundation under civil law by Aesulap-Werke AG, Tuttlingen, Carl Zeiss, Oberkochen
1985 Prof. Dr. Rudolf Steiner becomes the first Director of the Institute
1985 Foundation Stone Ceremony
1985 Inauguration of the building by the Prime Minister of Baden-Württemberg, Dr.hc Lothar Späth
1988 Visit by the Federal Chancellor Dr. Helmut Kohl
1988 First publication on the effect of the erbium laser on dental hard tissue
1988 First test of an erbium laser on a human
1989 International Symposium "Lasers in Dermatology" in conjunction with the 5th Annual Meeting of the Society for Laser Medicine  (DGLM e.V.)
1992 Presentation of the first erbium laser for medical applications at the International Dental Show in Cologne (KEY Laser, KaVo)
(International Dental Show in Cologne, KEY Laser, KaVo)
1992 Visit of Nobel Laureate Prof. A.M. Prokhorov, who developed the first laser, General Physics Institute, Moscow
1994 Expansion of ILM's Scope: Institute for Laser Technologies in Medicine and Metrology at the University of Ulm
1995 Visit of Federal Minister for Education, Science, Research and Technology, Dr. Jürgen Rüttgers
1995 Second International Symposium "Lasers in Dermatology"
1996 Discovery of red excited IR fluorescence as a method for differentiating caries and dental plaque from healthy tissue; patent application
1997 Kaltenbach & Voigt becomes additional founder of ILM
1997 Wankel Animal Protection Research Award to Dr. Angelika Rück, ILM and Dr. Karin Kunzi-Rapp, ILM for the establishment of the CAM model to spare animal experiments
1998 Market introduction of the fluorescent optical caries detector DIAGNOdent (KaVo)
1998 Cooperation Award "Science-Business " of the University of Ulm to Dr. Raimund Hibst, ILM and Prof. Ulrich Keller, Department of Oral Surgery
1999 The University Hospital of Ulm becomes another founder
2000 Constitution of an endowed profesorship by the company Kaltenbach & Voigt
2000 “Professor Adalbert Seifriz Price” awarded to the company Orthopaedics Walter and ILM
2001 Presentation of the first medical laser with fluorescence feedback (KEY 3)
2001 Organization of the 3rd International Symposium "Lasers in Dermatology"
2003 Heightening of the ILM building by one level
2004 Opening of the Laser Therapy Center (LTZ) by the Minister of Economic Affairs Ernst Pfister
2004 Poster Award of EUFEPS - European Federation for Pharmaceutical Sciences for an ILM research team 
2004 Medical Technology Innovation Competition of the BMBF. Award to the project “Caries prevention by means of femtosecond laser technology (?)”
2006 ILM is selected as a “Site of the Day” of the initiative "Germany - Land of Ideas"
2007 Scientific Forum "Optical technologies for medicine and biotechnology," with the Federal Minister Dr. Annette Schavan
2008 Prof. Dr. Raimund Hibst becomes director of the Institute
2008 Citation Award from the Canadian Society for Medical Physics for the most cited paper in the field of medical physics to Dr. Alwin Kienle
2008 T.H. Maiman Award for excellence in dental laser research from the Academy of Laser Dentistry to Prof. Dr. Raimund Hibst
2010 “ReversFix” (demountable and re-usable dental prosthesis) together with Prof. R. G. Luthardt, University Clinic of Prosthetics
2010 Kaltenbach & Voigt retires as founder by the end of the year
2011 Opening of the Core Facility "Confocal and multiphoton laser scanning microscopy"
2011 Annual meeting of the German Society for Laser Medicine (DGLM e.V.) with symposium celebrating the 25th anniversary of ILM
2014 Organization of the "International Conference on Laser Applications in Life Sciences" (LALS 2014)